German
English
French
Spanish

GLS Alternative Investments – Mikrofinanzfonds managt by FSFS

The main objective of the "GLS Alternative Investments - Mikrofinanzfonds" is to enable borrowers in emerging and developing countries to access financial services, which would otherwise be limited or impossible. The resources of the fund are used to refinance microfinance institutions ( "MFIs") and where applicable offer technical assistance or financial education.

The fund invests mainly in non-certificated loan receivables (optional equity) to refinance microfinance institutions. The microfinance institutions usually show in particular the following essential characteristics:

  • They are especially located in Africa, Asia, Southeast Asia, Central America, South America, the Caucasus region or Southeast Europe.
  • It may be a regulated or unregulated institution; their legal forms may be different;
  • The main activity of it is granting loans to micro and small entrepreneurs. In addition, they can also offer other financial services.

As part of this selection process the following criteria are checked in particular:

  • The MFI has high cost transparency for the final borrower established and client protection standards are implemented.
  • The MFI complies with the minimum requirements of the Smart Campaign (The Client Protection Principles)

In addition to the above criteria, a social-ecological selection of microfinance institutions based on both negative (e.g. armour and weapons, gambling, casinos and similar institutions etc.) and positive criteria (e.g. financing of small and medium enterprises, particularly in rural areas; Organized in the form of a cooperative, NGO and other principle, not profit-maximizing-oriented legal forms) is another major determining factor.

 

For further information please contact us directly.

German
English
French
Spanish

Der GLS Alternative Investments – Mikrofinanzfonds gemanagt durch FSFS

Ziel des GLS Alternativ Investments - Mikrofinanzfonds ist es, Kreditnehmern in Schwellen- und Entwicklungsländern einen Zugang zum Kapitalmarkt zu ermöglichen, die sonst keinen oder nur begrenzten Zugang zu angebotenen Finanzdienstleistungen erhalten. Mit den Mitteln des Fonds sollen Mikrofinanzinstitute („MFI“) refinanziert werden.   

Der Fonds erwirbt hauptsächlich unverbriefte Darlehensforderungen (sowie Eigenkapital und eigenkapitalähnliche  Anlageinstrumente) zur Refinanzierung von Mikrofinanzinstituten. Die Mikrofinanzinstitute weisen dabei üblicherweise insbesondere die folgenden wesentlichen Merkmale auf:  

  • Die Mikrofinanzinstitute haben Ihren Sitz vor allem in Afrika, Asien, Südostasien, Zentralamerika, Südamerika, Kaukasusregion, Südosteuropa.  
  • Es kann sich um regulierte als auch unregulierte Mikrofinanzinstitute handeln, deren Rechtsformen unterschiedlich sein können; 
  •  Die Haupttätigkeit der Mikrofinanzinstitute ist die Vergabe von Gelddarlehen an Klein- und Kleinstunternehmer. Darüber hinaus können die Mikrofinanzinstitute auch weitere Finanzdienstleistungen anbieten.   

Im Rahmen dieses Auswahlprozesses werden insbesondere die folgenden Kriterien geprüft:   

  • Es wird bei der Auswahl der Mikrofinanzinstitute darauf geachtet, dass eine hohe Kostentransparenz für die Endkreditnehmer besteht und ein integrierter Kundenschutz bei den Mikrofinanzinstituten besteht.  
  • Die finanzierten Mikrofinanzinstitute halten die Mindestanforderungen nach der Smart Campaign (d. h. deren Client Protection Principles) ein.    

Neben den oben genannten Kriterien erfolgt auch eine sozial-ökologische Auswahl der Mikrofinanzinstitute anhand definierter Negativ- (z.B. Rüstung und Waffen, Glückspiel, Casinos und ähnliche Institutionen etc.) und Positivkriterien (z.B. Finanzierung von kleinen und mittleren Unternehmen, insbesondere in ländlichen Gebieten; Organisiert in Form einer Genossenschaft, NGO und andere grundsätzlich nicht gewinnmaximierend-orientierte Rechtsformen)  

Für nähere Informationen kontaktieren Sie uns direkt.