German
English
French
Spanish

Seed Capital Assistance Facility II

The Vision

SCAF’s vision is to increase the availability of investment for early-stage development of low-carbon projects in developing countries, contributing to low-carbon sustainable development, economic growth, poverty reduction and climate change mitigation.

Importance of Seed Capital

Numerous barriers inhibit private sector financing of low-carbon projects in developing countries. During the early stage of development, projects carry a significant risk that is reduced only once all permits have been secured and the legal, operational and financial viability has been demonstrated. Although the investment requirements are modest at this stage, third-party financing usually is not available, leaving the financial burden to the project developers who themselves are often poorly capitalised and unable to fully develop projects on their own.

What SCAFF offers

SCAF addresses this financing gap by providing financial support on a cost-sharing and co-financing basis to low-carbon projects via private equity (PE) funds, venture capital (VC) funds and project development companies (DevCos). After a successful initial Phase I, SCAF launched Phase II in 2014.

Target countries of SCAF II

Please see http://www.scaf-energy.org for more detailed information.

German
English
French
Spanish

Seed Capital Assistance Facility II

Die Vision 

Das Ziel von SCAF ist es die Verfügbarkeit von Investition in der Entwicklung von kohlenstoffarmen ("low-carbon") Projekten in Entwicklungsländern im Frühstadium zu fördern. Dies soll zu einer kohlenstoffarmen, nachhaltigen Entwicklung führen und zu Wirtschaftswachstum, Armutsbekämpfung und Klimaschutz beitragen. 

Bedeutung von Seed Capital

Zahlreiche Hindernisse stellen sich dem privaten Sektor in Bezug auf die Finanzierung von kohlenstoffarmen Projekte in Entwicklungsländern entgegen. Während der frühen Phase der Projektentwicklung entstehen erhebliche Risiken, die nur reduziert werden können wenn alle Genehmigungen gesichert wurden und die rechtliche, operative und finanzielle Durchführbarkeit nachgewiesen wurde. Obwohl der Investitionsbedarf in dieser Phase überschaubar ist, sind Drittfinanzierungen in der Regel nicht verfügbar. Die finanzielle Belastung obliegt den Projektentwicklern, die selbst oftmals unterkapitalisiert sind und sich somit nicht in der Lage sehen Projekte eigenständig, vollumfänglich umzusetzen. 

Angebot von SCAF

SCAF greift die Finanzierungslücke auf und bietet finanzielle Unterstützung in Form von Kostenteilung und Co-Finanzierung kohlenstoffarmer Projekte für Private Equity (PE) Fonds, Venture Capital (VC) Fonds und Projektentwicklungsgesellschaften (DevCos). Nach einer erfolgreichen ersten Phase-I startete SCAF Phase II im Jahr 2014.

Zielländer SCAF II

Detailliertere Informationen finden Sie unter http://www.scaf-energy.org